History of Troop 746
Boy Scout Troop 746 was initially chartered in September 1952 and has been sponsored continuously by St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church. The first scoutmaster was John Poedel, the first Committee Chairman was Paul Raphel, Sr & Jack Klein was the first Secretary-Treasurer. Other original commiteee members were Pete Kraus and Bill Christ.
The first Eagle Scout from our troop was Paul Raphel, Jr. and there have been over 60 additional Eagle Scouts in the 52 year history of the troop. We have had 14 Scoutmasters over that timeframe. The man who served longest of these scoutmasters was Arthur (Art) Williamson who retired after 24 years of service to the troop. Art also served as an Explorer Scout Advisor to an Explorer Post that was attached to St. Joseph Church.
Over the years, the troop has gone on many weekend camping and summer camps. Some of these trips included; canoeing the Potomac and Pocomoke Rivers, biking on the C&O Canal and trails on Maryland's famous Eastern Shore, hiking the Applachian Trail in various states, visiting many historic cities and battlefields, fishing trips out of Chrisfield, MD. & Camporees. The troop has attended Summer Camps in Broadcreek and Alkor in MD, Treasure Island, Horseshoe and Hidden Valley in Pennsylvania, Camp Rodney in Delaware, and Ottari and Powhatan in Virginia, Buffalo Bill in Wyoming and Raymond in Arizona. Recently the troop has also visited Yellowstone National Park and the Grand Canyon.
Every three years the troop sends a contingent of scouts and leaders to Philmont Scout Reservation in Cimarron, New Mexico where they experience high adventure hiking.
Many of these trips are funded with our primary fundraiser--the Citrus Sales of Indian River, Florida. The troop has 3-5 orange and grapefruit drives between November and February.
We would like to thank the St. Joseph Parish for being our sponsor since 1952.